Ensemble 360

Crucible Studio Theatre, Sheffield

Premiered at 3.00pm on Thursday 13 May

This Was Available Until 31 May 2021

Please donate as you feel; every single gift makes a difference.


Tell us what you think by completing our survey


Live from the Crucible Studio

DVOŘÁK Silent Woods (6’)
SCHUMANN Fantasiestücke Op.73 (11’)
BRAHMS Piano Quintet (43’)

‘Silent Woods’ is cello writing at its most soulfully lyrical and underscored by elegantly restrained piano. Schumann’s three short pieces pair cello and piano in perfect balance as they range across wildly contrasting fantastical melodies, moving from a dreamy opening to plunge into the fiery finale. Brahms’s Piano Quintet is a wonderfully dark masterpiece, which has been rightfully described as ‘the crown of chamber music’.

Please donate as you feel: every single gift makes a difference.

Text SCMF 20 to 70085 to give £20
Text SCMF 10 to 70085 to give £10
Text SCMF 5 to 70085 to give £5

Text costs the amount you donate plus one standard rate message.

Download the concert programme notes