Ensemble 360

Upper Chapel, Sheffield

Friday 6 August 2021
1.00pm / 7.00pm

Tickets: £15
£10 Disabled & Unemployed
£5 Students & Under 35s

Book Tickets

CLARKE Viola Sonata (24’)
SCHUBERT Arpeggione Sonata (25’) 

 A virtuoso viola player herself, Clarke’s sonata for viola and piano is one of her best-known and most loved pieces. First performed in 1919, with echoes of Debussy and Vaughan Williams, this lush sonata is richly chromatic, inventive and pyrotechnic. Schubert’s elegant Arpeggione Sonata risked fading with extinction of the ‘bowed guitar’ instrument for which it was written, and hence its name. This viola transcription draws out the melancholy and hope of Schubert’s intricate and soulful work. 

Download the concert programme notes